Dark Enchantress 

I really strangely enjoy this book, it was a hell lot of fun. And one filled with adventures and one where there was a subversion of certain tropes. Which I expect of comic fantasy, which I consider this book to be under.

The way that the Dark Enchantress is very sympathetic, even if she is quite bratty and selfish. I liked her portrayal the way that she has her own reasons why she ended up becoming a villain and is called one. She isn’t someone who knows how to connect to people, and to many she is simply too weird to even bother. I consider her rather misunderstood, but still in need of a lot of development. As for the ending sequence when she meets Arwin again, now that is what I would expect.

Arwin is very relatable, the way that he has a lot weaknesses. The way that he is simply too good for the real world, the modern world where it is it so happens he met the worst of the lot. I mean, his girlfriend decided that breaking up with him by ‘accidentally’ meeting was the best way to go about it. It is even worse than breaking up through a text. And his best friend who left him just because he wanted better prospects.

I really like how the author pushes Arwin to face this problems, and eventually at the end is a mature person. I liked how he dealt with the Dark Enchantress, now that is how you handle a villain. The Dark Enchantress needed a wake up call anyway.

The wiring here is pretty good, even if at times the humor didn’t really get to me anymore. I didn’t laugh, but nonetheless it is worth the read. The subversion, the way the villain was written with redeemable qualities and flaws, all the while showing Arwin’s own journey into slowly finding himself. I enjoyed every bit of it. And I feel as though fantasy which takes common tropes and makes a joke out of them, often comes out being a rather nice kind of fantasy that I like. A fun, silly adventure indeed.

Do I recommend this, yes I do. It is something that would make you forget about high stakes or the end of the world, which is common in fantasy. Instead, it is something that starts out small, and develops the main character well enough that you can feel for him. And this is why I like it.

I received a copy in exchange for an honest review. 

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

