Sentinel 

I could connect with the book on a certain level, but it never went to me really caring about the characters worrying whether they are dead. Also, regarding the chosen one and Nephillim, I would want a more subtle approach to the chosen one. And the way it just felt tacked in, without having Luna deal with everything about it. 

I just couldn’t connect with the characters and couldn’t bring myself to believe them. Despite the whole idea about Nephillim being kept hidden, and even kept away from the human and angel side of things. It just didn’t feel real, it just didn’t feel right. And the way the chosen one was used as it was, without a name change, without really having any real purpose in the story. I just can’t buy it. 

I’m a skeptical person, and I prefer heroes be normal or skilled rather than some prophesized chosen one. Also, I prefer main characters having more of a drive to do things. Luna didn’t have have that development or even a reason why she wanted to do so which I wanted to read about. It just felt as though she accepted it and did nothing. Whether to uncover her memories, which would have been interesting. 

And I greatly prefer that the entire confrontation had been dragged out, Finn telling Luna that she needed to see some memories. And her having moments where she was going to doubt herself and the angels. Otherwise, I just don’t buy it. I don’t even know why Luna decided not to seek answers when it would have been logical, and normal even. Having her memories become a pivotal point would make sense, as she’s beginning to learn about herald and it is very important that she learns. 

I just couldn’t buy the fact that Luna went around and fought, yet she never felt like a character. She’s simply the chosen one, the one who was destined for greatness. Except without the depth that would make her a good one, or the depth of why she would accept it. 

I do think that the book can be improved a lot, given that I could not connect. But the writing style was readable and enjoyable even, clearly edited very well. But I just couldn’t buy the novel as Luna was a very one dimensional character, with little reason to even begin a journey to hell. I think she needs to have more time doubting, more time thinking and more time spent exploring her options and looking through a different perspective. 

Rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

