Deep Blue 

I just couldn’t take how childish this story was. It didn’t feel like it was meant for young adults, it was meant for middle grade at best and I would even recommend it for children. It didn’t have a single ounce of page that was unsuitable for children, and the dialogue was childish at best. I should have known when Disney supported this. 

And what did I feel about it, I couldn’t even connect to Serafina or even any characters here. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, and the dialogue lacked any substance to make it feel more realistic. It just made me feel nothing. 

The worldbuliding was quite detailed, with plenty of details that I really like them because of how it is developed. And how the countries are called. I can even derive a certain country’s name from its origins. Although at first it sounded strange, but then it made quite a bit of sense to me(that kingdom was Qin, on hindsight it was quite smart.)

But apart from that, I could barely care about the characters. There wasn’t really anything that I cared about within the characters themselves. Even the comedy didn’t get to me. 

Although the plot was decent, and it was quite interesting on some levels. But the characters simply could not support it, it was just too light hearted for me. So I would say that the main issue of the book lies with that I simply cannot believe that so many things were so simple, and so many things were simply just so happy and easily resolved. 

So, I would say that this book simply didn’t feel convincing as a young adult. For children or middle grade, I would be able to reconsider my rating. But since this is under young adult, this was simply too light and too unrealistic to get to me. In other words, it’s not you, it’s me. 

But I still recommend it to readers who want something light, or easy. But those who want something darker and a little more down to earth, avoid this book. And really the Disney label is a good gauge whether you should read this book. 

Rating: 2 out of 5 

Leave a Reply

