Assasin’s Heart 

The biggest issue I had with this book, is that Lea isn’t an assassin. I mean, she gets poisoned in the first chapter, and it gets downhill from there. 

I was fine with seeing Lea becoming angry, and even difficult. I mean, she just lost her entire family. Revenge was understandable particularly when she was raised to be an assasin and everything. It was expected and her reaction, was realistic given her background. 

But it was from after there did it become really really boring. It failed to grab my attention in the way I wanted it too, such as Lea struggling to survive. I wanted her to be a little more independent, and resourceful. She is an assassin after all. But I didn’t get it. 

All I really got was a lot of romance. And a lot of going around, and failing to really do anything. She meets Les, then falls in love with him. And well, the way he forgot Val could be understood. I mean, this guy may as well helped go slaughter your entire family.  I probably wouldn’t even want to think about marrying the guy. 

But I expected Lea to be smarter. You know what, she could have taken that chance to enter the Da Vias and become the assassin which she was supposed to be. I mean, if they are killing people, it makes morals a little less good here. And well, going inside gives her the chance to enter the Da Vias and you know infiltrate and plan everything from within. It would save her a lot of time, and well make her plans a lot more successful.  

Lea doesn’t need all of that, and well when Marcello says that she will die, I believed that given how incompetent an assassin she was, he was right. The first thing as an assassin was Knowing when she could strike, and well, she should have spent time with her father before, just finding for the right time to strike. 

It’s common sense. I mean, Lea takes the honorable way out and decided to reject it. Could she be any more stupid an assassin. I expected a little more intellect and ruthlessness when it comes to this, and expected her to just be willing to scheme and spy. 

This just doesn’t make up an assassin. I expected grey morals, not righteousness and the more ridiculous part was why were they even renamed as clippers. It just doesn’t make them sound any more threatening. And the way that they believe that by killing them, they are sending them on their next life. 

I mean, if that was their rationalization, it was okay. But it makes their killing justified. And I’m really like: what? It just makes the entire job an upright profession, not one which Lea has to constantly battle herself with. But makes it seem as though there is really nothing for her to hesitate by jumping into this life. 

Perhaps the most difficult part was that during the time Lea died and she met the goddess. I was expecting her to be a lot less kinder, and a lot more different. She certainly didn’t seem so, and was a benevolent goddess rather than one who basically became the goddess who worshipped them. 

This wasn’t a grey book, the assassin was thrown in there to sound cool, the same thing happened for clipper. It was meant to make then less menacing and less immoral. Not given the assasin their true nature and name. 

I admit that most of the book I didn’t really read much, at about a certain point I began to skim it and the ending. Nothing felt complete even after reading the ending. To me, Lea wasn’t even a good assasin. And the villain, just one hell of a lunatic. They were either against her or with her. 

There was no in between. So, this book really failed to make me think about it. The story was boring, the characters mostly dull and quite moronic with the way Lea acted as an assassin, and she still calls herself a clipper. When I think that it was lucky that she even survived for so long. 

Rating: 1.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

