Paper And Fire 

Well, this is a pretty decent sequel. It wasn’t exactly what I expected, because it didn’t have the same dark tone it had, and well I expected a little more death, a little more betrayal. But there still was a set of reveals which I enjoyed and nonetheless held the same tone as Ink And Bone. Such as the ways Obscurists reproduce, I expected it, given that most are locked up in the tower. And really, there was no other way for it to happen.

As for Jess, this was the same main character we had previously. And although he showed quite little growth, but still I liked him as well. But the main issue is that unlike the previous book where stakes were high, and every step had death, and danger with it. Here, I didn’t feel it. And one part became towards his and Morgan’s relationship, which I would have expected really and the issues that they have. But to me, it didn’t hold the same tension as before where there was so much danger and nothing came easy to Jess. 

Here, they saved Thomas, and the stakes although reached a new high. It didn’t get to me ha tension, it just didn’t feel as though it existed. Though a lot happened to them, but I simply couldn’t really care about their emotions or whatever they did. I guess this is a case where there were simply too many characters, and none had really grew further on me. The characters merely had been there and did everything, but I simply couldn’t feel it. 

Overall, this didn’t really satisfy from what I have read from this book. Some instances such as the Tower which hosted the Obscurists and the development of saving Thomas, was what I expected. As for Dario and what he did, it didn’t really leave a lasting impact on me. And that the plot failed to move me, as well as were how the characters were written. It simply didn’t get my attention on any of them. So, would I read on, pretty much I would be willing to give the sequel another try.  

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

