To Kill A Mockingbird

For a long time, I have hoped to set my hands on this story. And now that I have it, it doesn’t disappoint at all. This is truly a tale of blacks and whites, in the 1930s, and about a young girl. 

Though, I do think that the black issue here is more related to how her father chose to represent someone. And he argued for him in almost any way. But this is an America which is still discriminating against blacks, and I do think that Jean Louise makes a good narrator. As a child, she makes everything so clear and simple. Otherwise, I think that the language would have went over my head a long time ago. 

And to me, the ending was a good one. One which was open, and in a sense an ironic ending for Mr Ewell. Nonetheless, it did drag a little in the beginning but settled into the main focus. Where her father chooses to defend a black man, one which probably would have gotten none just because of his skin colour. And an America, which is almost as dark as the one in another novel. 

Perhaps, it doesn’t hit the characters as hard as in other books. But Jean Louise was interesting and well she told the story by just being a detached narrator and having bits and pieces of her life. But my most favourite quotes would be during the time where her father represented the man, and argued for him through cross examination. And whatever end that befell the man, it wasn’t a happy one. Even to my surprise. 

But to me, it was a clear indication of the discrimination against blacks in those times. Their lives were worthless, they had little rights, and they were lowly and always suspected. To me, this is a very dark them in history. And the reality here is no less grim, and that her father continues to fight in it. It had been what that made be care for her father, a lot more than any other. 

Overall, this is what a literary masterpiece should be to me. It isn’t about the writing, but about the themes, the life and the message it conveys. And also, an accurate portrayal should it be set in any part of history. 

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

