Crooked Kingdom 

This was just perfect. There is no other word for it, I was hooked on from the start. And one thing this book does extremely well is getting a reaction out of me. You know what the dialogue here was still witty and even funny at times. And the plot, it had me hooked for a good portion of the book. 

And within a day of starting this book, I have gotten a satisfied conclusion, an amazing book, and most importantly more backstory on each of them. More specifically, Jesper’s whose father becomes integral in this book. 

As for the characters, those who I believed developed the most had been Jesper and Wylan. And even then all of them gotten deeper and their characters even more real, not when they all have their issues they need to deal with. Nina is with drug withdrawal, Kaz with his own and that really this group of misfits are one of the best and the most unqiue I have ever read. 

As for the three ships, let’s just say I ship them all. They all felt real, even the gay couple that seemed healthy to me. To Kaz and Inej, where I just felt satisfied with their ending. And last but not least, Nina and Matthias, which I desperately believed that I need some closure to that and at the same time, nothing but utter sadness. 

How everything turned out to me was just inevitable, somehow I really know that that maybe all those characters might not survive. And the ending just perfect, nothing more or even less. Even though I wished for more of an epilogue, whatever happens wirh Nina and Matthias are hinted at but I just wanna know what happened to her in the end. As for Kaz and Inej, more or less interested in whether they would have kids. Can’t help but try that. And also about Jesper and Wylan. But I know the ending is perfect for this book yet I still want more. Maybe it’s time to look up fanfiction and hope that there is still something for me to read. 

And the best part is that even the villains here are actually interesting. Van Eck is an absolute jerk without a doubt, given what I have read of him. As for Pekka, the best was how he showed that moment of humanity and really cared for the life or death of his own son. I just prefer villains with some form of humanity and kindness in them, not the absolute abyss of darkness as their only defining trait. 

Overall, this was the perfect way to end a series. And this duology took me time before I decided to read and immediately became a fan, after all witty dialogue, realistic and believable characters, female characters that aren’t just there to make a statement and most importantly, a great and enticing plot. 

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quotes: 

Dirtyhands would not. The boy who could get them through this, get their money, keep them alive would do her the courtesy of putting her out of her misery then cutting his losses and moving on. 

“I would come for you,” he said, and when he saw the wary look she shot him, he said it again. “I would come for you and if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together—knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do, we never stop fighting.” 

2 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom 

Leave a Reply

