Graceling 

I went into this book with rather mixed feelings and came out without much to say. This book was like any other fantasy, it was shallow and didn’t dwell deep enough to hit home to me. I loved books with plenty of depth and this just seemed to lack it. 

Katsa was fine, she wasn’t the worst female character and her notions of never marrying are rather interesting as well as a beliefs. But otherwise, she is just another girl who hates dresses and despise her femininity and it still doesn’t make much sense to me why. And that I wanted to snack her, she is looking down on girls. And there weren’t anyone else to show her that there is another power with being a girl and staying through to her gender being the most infuriating. 

The other characters, I simply don’t care enough about them to even mention them. There wasn’t any which I found genuinely interesting or even wanting to know more. And most of them just came and went. 

As for the antagonist Leck, how he dies is utterly forgettable and becomes anti climatic for me. As for him as a villain, there’s nothing distinguishable about him and he falls rather flat to me. His cruelty may have been of his grace, but I didn’t ate. Although he foes have some common sense and used his grace well to deceive his kingdomand comes to Monsean to find his daughter. But there was no confrontation as Katsa just kills him or even anything to give him that development of depth. And his motives for it are still unknown.

The world having graces and being graced with something was interesting and rather fascinating. But it all fell flat here, it works as a epic fantasy but high fantasy wise, I’m not going to recommend this book. It lacked in that department, with the lack of interesting characters to hook me I mostly just read and forgot about them. 

The seven kingdoms I feel could have been distinguished better, as well as more of an introduction with their country relations. As for the plot, it was by far one of the most simplistic I have seen and at the same time there wasn’t any complexity. And in high fantasy, the current situation between the seven kingdoms weren’t clear to me about their relationships. It seems that Ror was really ready to help Bitterblue without really asking for any form of benefits after helping her. 

The thing that lacked here was the fact about how graces affected them in terms of politics, did they have court sessions with them. What about those who weren’t graced? I didn’t feel that it was handled and done well enough. 

As for the ending, it’s a happily ever after one which I feel as though satisfied the need for an ending. As for the ending being inpactful or not, I don’t really care enough about the characters to feel whether the ending suits them.

As a whole, the book has an interesting premise and even element thrown in about the graces. But character wise, they bore me and the antagonist needed a little more appearances(he only appeared twice or thrice in the whole book) and being mentioned doesn’t count if I don’t see his cruelty, and no killing his own wife doesn’t count as cruelty. There’s far worse things than that. The plot is simple and enjoyable if you’re new to this genre or mostly want action, but if you want something more complex just keep looking. 

Rating: 2 out of 5

Reading the sequel: Maybe, I’m just on the fence whether to read this or not. 

Leave a Reply

