Daughter Of The Sun 

Title: Daughter of the Sun (Cult of the Cat series, Book 1)

Author: Zoe Kalo

Genre: YA mythological fantasy

Word count: 93,000 words

Release date: May 1, 2016

Daughter of the Sun, Book 1 – blurb

Sixteen-year-old Trinity was born during a solar eclipse and left at the doorsteps of a convent along with a torn piece of papyrus covered with ancient symbols. Raised by nuns in the English countryside, she leads a quiet life until she’s whisked away to the Island of Cats and a grandmother she never knew. 

But before they can get to know each other, her grandmother dies. All that Trinity has left is a mysterious eye-shaped ring. And a thousand grieving cats. As Trinity tries to solve the enigma of the torn papyrus, she discovers a world of bloody sacrifices and evil curses, and a prophecy that points to her and her new feline abilities. 

Unwilling to believe that any of the Egyptian gods could still be alive, Trinity turns to eighteen-year-old Seth and is instantly pulled into a vortex of sensations that forces her to confront her true self—and a horrifying destiny.

A rather interesting murder nystery to me actually. The novel went by fast, within three days of reading this I had finsihed it(even if the deadline I set for myself was next Monday to get this review out.)

To begin the story, it didn’t blow my mind, but it made me addicted at many parts of the story. And had me hooked for the entirety of it. Although there were still holes in the story itself but I believe this is a good book, and is better. 

The Egyptian mythology, at least on my knowledge was accurate and well researched. After reading another book with Egyptian mythology, I guess I had skme knowledge. Here it was fascinating and dwelled deeper, and touched on other sides and maybe slightly less known. 

Trinity is very much a strong character here, her love for animals is logical and helps her many times. To her own weaknesses. When she loses her temper over not having any answer, after some time, that to me was realistic. All the while her questions which almost never get answered, and her caution could be attributed to her upbringing. Even if there was a lot of cliché with her, she was still interesting and compelling enough to keep me reading. As for her being a reinvsrnation, I should have seen that coming when she was beginning to develop cat-like abilities 

As for Ara, who is the next character that I enjoy, and for once I’m glad that there was a strong relationship here. Even if she did certain things at the end, but it made sense for her character. Her inability to believe Trinity’s own judgement about her mother was done well, it was realistic to be defensive against someone who proposed that your mother is evil. And her personality, she seems strong and did things to find out answers behind her crazy family. 

As for Brianna, by far one of the most mysterious character and her sudden disappearance. Eventually she became relevant, and that I completely missed her or even realised what she was hiding as. 

One thing I did enjoy, was the small focus on romance here. Her relationship with Seth doesn’t come into the spotlight here, not as much as the mystery behind her family and finding answers. Which for once I was glad. 

As for Dr Nassri, I had expected that. That she may not be someone nearly as nice, but her relavations as a villain, one which was kinda built up and the hints spreader throughout. An issue, is that she felt too evil, I didn’t know what drove her to be like that. To the degree that she hated her own daughter, just for being born three days too early. 

She just felt evil, and I didn’t understand her motivations. I would have liled het backstory, as I’m missing what is the most important to her character, why does she want to take over the world. But I do agree with what she said, that power was worth more than beauty. But her character although built up well, I feel lacks a drive that makes her the villain.

Much of the plot was well explored, all the while leaving clues and foreshadowing to twists which I didn’t pay much attention to. Even if the villain although not a cliché but I feel there is a lot lacking towards her character as she comes off as just plain evil. But for a simple read, one as a breather all the while not being too light hearted nor dark, I believe it was a nice book for me to read. 

However, this book is suited towards the young adult audiences, one which I have to agree. It would appeal to many as long as you like mythology and decently(in my opinion) well researched Egyptian mythology and a book not too heavy on romance. I would reconmend this book but it wouldn’t make to the list of the best books I’ve read this year. 

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 

Reading the sequel: Maybe, depending on whether I can borrow this from the library. 

This Review is a part of the Blogger Outreach Program by b00k r3vi3w Tours

You can purchase it here

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

