Swordsman Review

image

This is the newest remake of Swordsman, or rather Xiao Ao Jiang Hu. This was one of the first Chinese dramas I watched.

I have to admit that it’s not that badly done and that I was seriously confused by Dong Fang Bu Bai’s gender for most of the series. As I looked up upon the book and it said that he was a castrated man, but this was clearly portrayed by an actress.

I rather liked this series if you consider it, even though only until recently that I re-watched it again and it wad quite bad.

Wallace Huo as Ling Hu Chong

image

I rather liked this actor, he is amazingly handsome, sure that is shallow but it is important for an actor or actress as looks are also a way to become famous.

His portrayal was rather well done, although I didn’t get the really mischievous vibe but he did do a good job at proving that he is a really funny guy although it wasn’t really natural. But I have to admit, he completely nailed the more serious ones. It’s probably because he often potrays really serious and cold characters.

He has really great chemistry with Joe Chen, maybe it’s because they used to date, and I can see it onscreen but with Yuan Shan Shan it’s next to non-existent.

Joe Chen as Dong Fang Bu Bai

image

I guess that I watched for this actress, she’s really good. Also, I spent more time shipping her with Ling Hu Chong than  Ren Ying Ying.

Also, I remembered her face way faster than Yuan Shan Shan, because of her acting and her early premiere in the series compared to others.

I can see why so many people say that she is a great actress, and that she is playing a girl dressing as a guy and convinced  me that she was Dong Fang Bu Bai.

For this role, Yu Zheng chose a great actress.

Yuan Shan Shan as Ren Ying Ying

image

image

This actress certainly didn’t strike me in any way that she was Ren Ying Ying, a cold beauty who could be ruthless and cruel. For once, I get why Joe Chen took up most of ner scenes.

She is not a great actress, I wasn’t even convinced and certainly didn’t strike me as Ren Ying Ying. Her features are a little plain and didn’t stand out when compared to Joe Chen.

And the clothes, sigh, it’s way too bright, I can’t even see why a cult that’s considered demonic would have such ridiculously bright coloured clothes. Or when did they get so much time to dye all the clothes into the colour that she mostly wore.

The plot isn’t as bad as I thought even though Yu Zheng made some changes that I’m okay with, it’s good to have an original take.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Sweet dreams postings from dreamingmt

Leave a Reply

